Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a total noob on this stuff so be kind :). I am trying to learn more about my stock exhaust. Which parts are which...resonators vs mufflers etc. i cant find a good online source describing or showing it. Can anyone help me out? Here is a shot of the underside of mine today...100% stock.

I am considering a reso delete and am getting some estimates. There seems to be some confusion by these muffler shop guys as to which can is a reso vs a muffler and I am no help right now.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,091 Posts
I am a total noob on this stuff so be kind :). I am trying to learn more about my stock exhaust. Which parts are which...resonators vs mufflers etc. i cant find a good online source describing or showing it. Can anyone help me out? Here is a shot of the underside of mine today...100% stock.

I am considering a reso delete and am getting some estimates. There seems to be some confusion by these muffler shop guys as to which can is a reso vs a muffler and I am no help right now.
The mufflers are in the middle of the car, they are much smaller then the rear resonators and are a lot less restrictive. Don't let anyone tell you the mufflers are in the rear.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Let's start at the back, bolted and spot welded rectangular tips at bumper,
The two horrible large resonators, filling the whole cavity behind rear tire in lower quarter panel.
Then round mufflers, them catalytic converters, and finally exhaust manifolds.

Go on blasting bobs site and see resonator delete kit, which I have, it's just straight pipes professionally bent and flared to replace your pipes from rear axle to tips. Cost $116 ships to house ups.

You can do it in driveway in 45 minutes, sounds like a beast

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter #4