Avoiding "additional processing"

Discussion in 'Diablo Tuner Discussion' started by White Lightnin, Nov 25, 2017.

  1. White Lightnin

    White Lightnin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SC
    Vehicle?:
    2014 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T
    Color?:
    Billet Silver Metallic
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    Every time I put my tune back on it states my car needs additional processing and adds an extra 30 mins to the process. Is there any way to avoid that?
     
  2. cdahl383

    cdahl383 Senior Member MOTM Winner!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    11,814
    Media:
    82
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    9,027
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    Vehicle?:
    2015 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack
    Color?:
    Sublime
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    Never heard of that before. What tuner are you using (Intune, Trinity, etc)? Is it trying to update the calibration of the PCM? Should just load the tune file and turn the key off/on, etc.
     
  3. White Lightnin

    White Lightnin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SC
    Vehicle?:
    2014 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T
    Color?:
    Billet Silver Metallic
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    It's a trinity. I select the tune and then I get a screen saying additional processing required which could add 30 extra mins. Doesn't tell me if it's updating the car or what.

    I actually just killed my battery and I'm waiting for a jump.

    I even unplug my head lights and taillights since it takes so long. Finally killed it this time.

    I hoping it's just a dead battery at this point.
     
  4. White Lightnin

    White Lightnin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SC
    Vehicle?:
    2014 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T
    Color?:
    Billet Silver Metallic
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    Just the battery, got it running.

    I would love to cut down the tuning time in the future to keep this from happening again, if anybody has any ideas?...
     
  5. cdahl383

    cdahl383 Senior Member MOTM Winner!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    11,814
    Media:
    82
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    9,027
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    Vehicle?:
    2015 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack
    Color?:
    Sublime
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    Something is not right. It shouldn't be doing that. I would call Diablosport and see what they say.

    Can you try plugging the tuner into your laptop and then open up DS Downloader and see if it will update the tuner automatically to a new crom file? It may need an update possibly.

    Mine updated recently and then it had to recalibrate the PCM which took a little longer, but once it did that, now it just loads tunes normally within a few minutes. Takes maybe 2-3 minutes to load a tune, maybe 5-6 minutes to backup the stock tune, etc.
     
  6. White Lightnin

    White Lightnin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SC
    Vehicle?:
    2014 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T
    Color?:
    Billet Silver Metallic
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    Wow! 5 mins would be awesome. Takes me 45 minutes+ to load a tune. It has since I bought it. Got it new, updated it and it's always taken forever. Even restoring stock tune takes 25 minutes.
     
  7. cdahl383

    cdahl383 Senior Member MOTM Winner!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    11,814
    Media:
    82
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    9,027
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    Vehicle?:
    2015 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack
    Color?:
    Sublime
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    Yeah something is not right then with that particular tuner. I would call Diablosport and tell them what's going on and see what they say. They also have an internet forum you can post on with questions, etc.

    I would almost tell them you want to ship your tuner to them so they can look at it and see what's wrong. If they can't fix it, then demand a new one. Just load your stock tune back on in the meantime if you send it out so it's not married to your car and stuff.

    Hopefully they can tell you what's wrong. Sounds like something is goofed up with the tuner though, I've never had issues like that with my old Predator, the Intune, or my Trinity now.
     
  8. White Lightnin

    White Lightnin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SC
    Vehicle?:
    2014 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T
    Color?:
    Billet Silver Metallic
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    I'll give em a shout and see what they say.

    I did ask about the times on here when I first got it and was told that was normal. That it's supposed to take awhile when going from stock, but switching tunes should be quick. So I don't know, maybe I wasn't clear or misunderstood the response I got. If you're saying you can do it in a few mins though, something isn't right.

    Thanks.:)
     
  9. cdahl383

    cdahl383 Senior Member MOTM Winner!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    11,814
    Media:
    82
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    9,027
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    Vehicle?:
    2015 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack
    Color?:
    Sublime
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    Yes, backing up the stock tune does add some time, but the whole process starting from backing up the stock tune and then loading a tune shouldn't take any longer than 10 minutes or so. Just loading a tune after that or modifying some parameters should only take a few minutes.

    Hopefully they can give you some direction on what to do. Good luck and keep us posted on how it works out.
     
  10. wvhemis

    wvhemis Well-Known Member Site Supporter Level 5 MOTM Winner! Military

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    9,223
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    8,893
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Vehicle?:
    Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T Shaker Edition
    Color?:
    Plum Crazy
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    Like Carl said I have never had the issue with my old Sport on my new T-1000.
     
  11. White Lightnin

    White Lightnin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SC
    Vehicle?:
    2014 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T
    Color?:
    Billet Silver Metallic
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    This is the response I got from Mike L (customer service manager at Diablo)...


    "Tuning a 13/14 for the first time (reading the stock tune out) will take 35-45 minutes. Its totally normal and part of tuning the 13/14 models.
    Subsequent tune changes will take less than 3 minutes, but going back to stock will take another 25+ minutes.

    05-12 and 15_ cars can be tuned from scratch in less than 10 minutes.

    Always ensure the battery is fully charged before attempting the log read process.


    Thanks"


    So it seems there is nothing wrong with it doing what it's doing on a 2014. Also nothing I can do about which kinda sucks.

    Thanks guys.
     
  12. shooterjgs

    shooterjgs Active Member Military

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    969
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    South Texas
    Vehicle?:
    Challenger
    Model Year?:
    2013
    Trim?:
    SXT Plus
    Color?:
    Brilliant Black
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    Hmm... Mines a 13 and it doesn't seem like it took that long... Maybe... It's been a while... I got several tunes I switch around some but I don't go back to stock tune just load the new one over the existing one... Takes about 10 min's...
     

Share This Page