Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Installed a barton shifter, but I get a kind of scraping sound in 1st and 2nd gear.. hard to explain. Hopefully it can be heard in this video. I have not tried teflon tape yet but wondering what others have done to rectify if they've had the same problem.

·
Enjoying the ride !
1,155 Posts
There is a video on the install by work play drive I believe, pull your center section up & there is a cable or wiring that runs parallel on the drivers side of the shifter it has a Christmas tree push plug that holds it away from the shifter just a thought maybe it popped out ? I'm no expert by any means just throwing it out there.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah
There is a video on the install by work play drive I believe, pull your center section up & there is a cable or wiring that runs parallel on the drivers side of the shifter it has a Christmas tree push plug that holds it away from the shifter just a thought maybe it popped out ? I'm no expert by any means just throwing it out there.
yeah good call out. I used that video as a guide and know exactly what you're talking about. I did secure that, unless it has since come loose. It sounds like a metal on metal sound

·
Registered
34 Posts
It sounds to me like gear noise being transmitted up through the shifter assembly. When I did mine I had a ton of noise at first, it ended up being that I didn’t have the nut for the one shield tight enough which was letting it rattle a bit.

You’ll have a little more noise than stock, but try this first and hopefully it’ll quiet it up a bit. There should be a torque spec but I don’t have it offhand.

Attachments

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #5