Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 124 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been through the ringer with several different dealerships and mechanics. They replaced fluids, finally replaced the transmission, fixed this and that and it feels better than it did when I bought it a year later, but something is still wrong. I'm not an expert on cars, but I've driven other manual challengers and I know it's not normal. Usually in bumper to bumper traffic, if I find myself on a hill, I have to jam the shifter out of gear. Otherwise, I just get bumpy, crunchy shifts which feel like there is no lubricant - just dry metal on metal.. I love my car and I want it to be an enjoyable experience to drive. Sometimes it and is and sometimes it isn't.

So my question, what's left for me to do? Dodge dealerships all say it's driving as designed, but I've driven a '19 6MT and although it does feel a little notchy, it did not get stuck in gear and the notches were not as pronounced or "dry" feeling. My plan is to put in some new trans fluid this week (tremec's MT HP fluid), but I don't think that's the problem. I'm at the point where if I can't make it feel any better, I will just sell it and look for something else. I'd really rather not do that since I've put so much time and work into this vehicle and I don't like to give up. It's also a very unique color, trim, interior and look with the shaker hood that I wouldn't be able to easily find again (I had to buy it out of state as it was)

Desperate. If someone wants to talk to me on the phone about it, I'd be happy to talk to you. Shit, I'd pay someone with experience to come out to MA and drive my car and see if they can figure out what's going on, because apparently no one else can.

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Design flaw, go with an A8