Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the mod game, but since I purchased my Challenger last year I can't stop! Now, I'm wanting to increase the engine performance. I've been looking at a few threads here trying to see which route to take. When they announced the numbers on the Hellcat, I wanted one real bad. But since I've invested so much into my current Challenger, I've decided to continue on putting my own stamp on it.

With that said, I'm thinking about changing out the headers and cam. I've read about getting bigger valves, but not exactly sure how to go about doing that or if I should. Also, I want to change out the exhaust system to gain a deeper sound. I'm open to any and all information. I have a 2011 6-speed R/T that currently has no engine changes. I currently have 5 years left on my warranty. So, if any changes are going to void it they can wait a few years.

Fire away folks and thanks!

·
Registered
145 Posts
Changing the cam will void your warranty on the motor. Your not going to be able to get a whole lot of power out of the car without voiding the warranty. Only real mods you could do would be exhaust, cold air intake, catch can, sticky tires.My service guy at the dodge place said that messing with anything catalytic converter up would void the warranty. Not sure how accurate that is though.

·
12,990 Posts
A supercharger is without a doubt the best bang for your buck as far as creating a sleeper, it will also give you more HP than head cam and valve work. I've already gone this route to get the sleeper car, you can check out my signature to see what I've done.

·
Registered
640 Posts
I will chime in on exhaust.

There are any number of ways you can go especially because you have a six speed and you won't encounter as many issues with drone.