Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Packin up my game gonna head out west....
2,470 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm wondering how people have liked the engine cover overlays for the "ribs" on the engine cover and the 5.7L V8 portion of the cover. I started painting my cover this weekend thinking I'd go with the chrome overlays in each spot and I'm now wondering if how the overlays hold up if they stay flat etc?

Figured I'd check on the forums to see what the general opinion is of them.

Thanks
Jay

·
Registered
275 Posts
i have them on my engine cover(red) just make sure you clean them real good and use an adhesive promoter on each rib before you lay them down, mine have been on for over a year and no problem

·
Premium Member
18,482 Posts
I've read on some of the product websites that the chrome overlays are more sensitive to scratches than some of the other finishes. I like the chrome myself.
MoparMom has a nice chrome setup on hers.If she sees this thread,I'm sure she'll chime in for you.

·
Premium Member
17,675 Posts
I do have the chrome overlays and engine shroud. Definitely have to prep and follow directions. Mine has been on over a year now.....no issues. You do have to take care when cleaning them as well.

Reactions: MIDNITE RT

·
2,470 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the info folks I'm thinking I'll go ahead and order some. I'm wanting to add louvers in the near future so I was already getting ready to buy pro-bond so at least I'll have something else to use it for.

Take it easy
Jay

·
Waiting for beautiful fall colors!
2020 Go Mango Scat Pack
28,445 Posts
Susie, was it hard to do?

·
Banned
149 Posts
I have overlays on my cover as well. I went with reflective orange and a piece of white vinyl for the center section. Prep work is the key. and take your time putting them on. Be gentle or the vinyl (non chrome) will stretch and look kind of weird in spots.

·
Premium Member
17,675 Posts
Susie, was it hard to do?