Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just trying to do my homework and I’m new so correct me if I’m wrong but is it possible to swap 3.5L or 3.6L engine for 6.2L or 6.4L engine ? I have a 2015 Sxt that’s well maintained and recently bought a salvaged 2016 HC (hellcat) From a friend for a great price with minor front end damage as far as like the body goes.. I really like working on cars specifically mines and I’m just learning and I know it will probably be a pain in the a** but I was only curious.. thanks in advance guys

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am eventually but it’ll be too easy for me to fix I’m kinda doing like a personal car project as well and wondered if I could swap the engines out

·
Administrator
2016 Challenger Scat Pack Shaker
53,012 Posts
Could you, yes will you be totally successful, chances are slim. There is so much more involved. Even if you get the motor and transmission installed getting all the electronics working correctly will need intervention from a higher authority. The better thing would be to take all the broken parts and replace them with the good parts from the SXT.

·
Registered
2017 T/A 392 Destroyer Gray
575 Posts
It's not just motor and trans, it's rear end, suspension, brakes, and electronics which will be the biggest issue. It would be pretty unsafe to put a hellcat motor in an sxt without doing all the proper upgrades of everything else.

Unless you really like a ton of stress, headaches and throwing tons of money at a project that will probably have tons of issues and possibly not work at all, just fix the hellcat. Way cheaper and way less headaches involved.

·
Registered
378 Posts