Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For a 2010 Dodge Challenger r/t classic 5.7L with a 6 sp. Manual transmission do I need to run 91 Octane fuel? Dealership is saying I only need 87 but i found online and in an owners manual to use 91 since its the 6 sp manual. The source I found online said the same thing but it also had a disclaimer that said it excluded the rt classic model. Any suggestions?

·
What's Old is New Again!
33,960 Posts
At least 91 octane for the 6 speed R/T. Runs better with a 93 custom tune!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That's what I figured. I have been running 87 oct for the last 6 months (because thats what the dealership told me to do), to switch to premium should I just use up the 87 gas I have in the tank, then switch to 91 then on? I know mixing gas is bad, but also I've heard the car will run rough while the computer adjusts to the change in octane.

·
Mopartial to Challengers
8,977 Posts
also, having run 87 oct for a while, could that have cause ping damage to the motor?
Pinging is caused by off-timing detonation. Insufficient octane is the most likely cause. If you notice your engine pinging, you may need to run a fuel system cleaning additive through a couple of tanks.

·
Dazed & Confused
34,913 Posts
The way I understand it there are two types of spark knock, short term and long term. A little bit of short term is not bad and happens quite a bit around shift points. Long term is bad like you would get from running too low an octane for an extended time. What happens is the PCM picks up on the fact that it's constantly pulling timing due to the knock and effectively builds it into profile. If I were you I would run it on down and fill it with the proper octane and then pull the #2 fuse (car off) under the hood for about 30 seconds to reset the pcm.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #9