Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:sad:hey guys, having a bad day my baby was running fine yesterday no problems everything was good and suddenly today I turned her on and I get this loud humming noise right away from front of engine and it doesn't go away.I checked it out and the constant humming seems to b coming from the alternator or close to it. so I went on line to see what I could find out and not much:/ found that maybe the alternator or maybe one of the pullyes. well just right know i was driving back home and the red warning light came on, the battery or Charging system light.so now I got the humming and the battery light on.I'm not a mechanic but try to sometimes.lol.and right now I just don't have the money to take her in to b looked at.if someone experienced this or can help me move to the right direction I would b very grateful.I'm just glad I have tomorrow off so I can try to fix her.again I would really appreciate ur guys help.
2011 challenger Se 3.6L
stock except for Airaid intake
67,000 miles(which have been all mine=D)
constant humming noise as soon as I turn her on and charging system light on

·
What's Old is New Again!
39,500 Posts
Symptoms sound like the alternator is gone? First, check your serpentine belt and make sure it's tight. Go to an Advance Auto, tell them the symptoms,and ask them to run a charging systems diagnostic. This system tests the alternator, The starter and the battery. It's a free service. I run these tests every day at our Advance.

You may also call your dealer to see if the alternator is warrantied at 67K.

Reactions: HemiMetal

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #3