Dodge Challenger Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is an issue that I have had over the past year. I’ve taken it to the dealership a couple times to get it checked out but they either told me they couldn’t hear it. This issue only happens sometimes, most commonly when I am at a stop and roll out of 1st gear. I’ve had a hellcat clutch put in, changed out my transmission fluid, but nothing seems to work. I am no mechanic but I suspect the noises are coming from my driveshaft being worn out or failing. The car only has 35,000 miles on it, but I do burnouts and drive hard.

·
Registered
2016 Challenger SXT Plus
4,374 Posts
This is an issue that I have had over the past year. I’ve taken it to the dealership a couple times to get it checked out but they either told me they couldn’t hear it. This issue only happens sometimes, most commonly when I am at a stop and roll out of 1st gear. I’ve had a hellcat clutch put in, changed out my transmission fluid, but nothing seems to work. I am no mechanic but I suspect the noises are coming from my driveshaft being worn out or failing. The car only has 35,000 miles on it, but I do burnouts and drive hard.
Driveshaft bearing tearing loose.

·
Politically correct.
'09 SRT 440 HEMI
11,331 Posts
It could be lash in the rear end too. This is common in some rears.
:unsure:

·
Registered
21 Posts
I had the same issue in my 2012 Challenger SRT8. I thought it was coming from the rear. I checked the driveshaft and it was tight. Turned out to be the drivers side motor mount.

My wife’s 2016 Challenger R/T had a bad driveshaft, it sounded like a baseball card stuck in the spokes of a bicycle.
Good luck

·
Premium Member
2012 Challenger R/T Classic 5.7L,Kook LT,Borla ATAK,Comp 270 cam,Hellcat valve train,AiraidCAI
422 Posts