Dodge Challenger Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to owning a manual vehicle and ive been nervouse about ahifting my car into 5th gear because i cant tell the difference between 5th and reverse. This is probably a stupid question, but i dont want to mess my car up, any tips? Does it lock you out of revers while going forward?

·
Premium Member
2,887 Posts
did you take lessons before you bought the car? what year is your car? do you know how many gears you have? i am not being funny or trying to make fun of you, but, unless you have an older challenger, you probably have at least a 6 speed, in which case, your shifter should be up to the left for 1st, then down, then up a little bit for 3rd, then down, then up a little more for 5th and then down for 6 and reverse should be all the way to the right and down. so, unless you are just throwing your arms around, you shouldn't be worried. but, if you did not take lessons to learn, sit in your car and learn where the gears are. and, just to answer your question, it does not lock you out of reverse. you shift into reverse at speed, you will destroy your transmission, at the very least, and crash badly, at the worst. don't drive your car until you learn the shift pattern. for your safety, and everybody else's
sorry, just realized i told you the wrong thing, it is over and up for reverse, not down, sorry about that. was thinking of my corvette

·
Premium Member
2,887 Posts
I have a 2014 with a 6 speed, i know how to drive a manual ive done it before just not alot, and reverse is up and to the right torwards the passenger
yeah, i realized just as i hit post that i was thinking of the wrong car

·
Premium Member
5,811 Posts
There is a lock-out solenoid that prevents going into reverse above 3mph.
That's correct. The driver can't even move the shift lever over to the reverse gate. You will only get 5th or 6th gear.