Dodge Challenger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all Ok I am new to the new manual trans in our Scat, I have abused the A833 trans in older Mopars but I have never missed a shift like I did tonight. In sport mode Not really laying (shifting at around 5) into it I couldn't find third, is this the "skip gear" crap. My question is will the Barton shifter fix this or do I need that other fix to allow me to select the gear that I want? Just a pre thank you for you answers, Bob

·
Registered
2012 Challenger R/T plus, 6spd
107 Posts
If you ever installed a Hurst short throw shifter and noticed an improvement then you will appreciate the comment from Speedy at Speedy's Garage:
"It is as much of an upgrade over the Hurst, as the Hurst was over the stock shifter. If you're looking for a shifter upgrade for you M6 Challenger, look no futther."

·
Premium Member
2021 R/T Scat Pack Shaker Widebody
3,124 Posts
No not the skip shift. If you are new to it, give it some time. When I got mine, I had not driven a manual for decades. I fumbled with the gears at first but that went away as I got used to it. My dealer told me a Barton could cause warranty issues so I just put a short throw lever on it. That helped allot and I almost never fumble with it anymore.

·
Politically correct.
'09 SRT 440 HEMI
11,878 Posts
A mechanical shifter itself won't prevent the "skip-shift" event. You need a electrical harness for that.

Reactions: SKT PK 9 Man

·
Registered
2015 Dodge Challenger SRT
988 Posts
Howdy all Ok I am new to the new manual trans in our Scat, I have abused the A833 trans in older Mopars but I have never missed a shift like I did tonight. In sport mode Not really laying (shifting at around 5) into it I couldn't find third, is this the "skip gear" crap. My question is will the Barton shifter fix this or do I need that other fix to allow me to select the gear that I want? Just a pre thank you for you answers, Bob
Bob,