Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay everyone so I am new to moding as i have left my previous charger and challenger they way they were so when getting the 2014 Shaker R/T i decided that I am going to go all out. So far all i have done was added the Mopar Catback exhaust and i am ready to do more. Can anyone tell me what throttle upgrade is needed over the existing one? and if mopar makes one as i prefer to keep everything mopar. Also Headers is there a specific set up or can i just say i want the mopar headers for the 5.7 Hemi and the dealer order them from mopar. Last what is the advantage of the catch can does this add performance please forgive me as i am knew again.

·
Registered
141 Posts
i previously had a 2010 R/T with BBK 85 mm throttle body, mopar CAI, magnaflow exhaust, catch can and dyno tune to rebalance fuel/air mix. I recently traded in the 2010 also for a 2014 shaker. I have checked with BBK but they do not have a throttle body yet which is compatible with the 2014 model year. Folks at Modern Muscle have ported 85 mm TB's for the 14's. Unit is Dodge OEM TB which is machined to 85 mm at the inlet end and 83 mm (this matches the opening at the intake plenum) at the discharge side. Since it is modified OEM unit it should be plug and play with the on board electronics. Catch can is basically a demister that removes the oil droplets from theair flow in the PCV line. This oil is captured in the catch can before it can cool and condense in the intake manifold. Over time oil accumulates in the manifold and turns to gum and tar in the manifold and runners. The catch can keeps the oil from making it to the manifold. With mine, I would drain couple ounces of oil every few thousand miles which otherwise would have made it to the intake.