Dodge Challenger Forum banner

Smooth Shifting

3K views 20 replies 5 participants last post by  BBC2Hemi 
#1 ·
I’m a noob with in comes to driving a manual (bought the car and through resilience and a lot of cursing I’ve gotten it down)... I noticed that my gear shift is now smoothly shifting into gear. It feels different from when I first bought the car, as it felt more sturdy and firm. It now glides into gear. Is that a sign of a bad bushing or its me being a noob to a manual and it’s supposed to smoothly get into gear?

#4 ·
I never cared for my stock shifter, I went with a Barton and never looked back. I do agree though you are probably getting better at it.

Reactions: Dodgeguy
#6 ·
It is not just the nob, it is the shifter assembly itself. This is a stock assembly.

I didn't use the Barton pistol grip, I used a Hurst handle on mine, the Barton self centers so pull slight left to shift to 2nd, push to 3rd, pull to 4th, push slight right to 5th and pull slight right to 6th. Very smooth and very precise shifting.

Reactions: Yellowjacket 6.4
#9 ·
The Barton was too short for my liking, very short throw in the shift itself, I guess I am too old school in my shifting.

#10 ·
looking to buy a shaker rt manual my friends 2015 challenger clutch is like pushing a cinderblock way too heavy. my daily driver is a 2016 wrangler with 6sp tried out a mustang v8 'gT clutch very nice. How does the challenger clutch effort feel compared to others? do you think its "heavy" my jeep is reasonable very long throws however but its a jeep. Do you think i'll regret getting the RT manual?? Also, my friends camaro has a lock out from a 1-4 shift. Is there a lock out on the challenger trans?? can you do a 2-5 shift ?

#11 ·