UConnect crashes

Discussion in 'Dodge Challenger Electrical Problems and Questions' started by Lukasz Langa, Jun 11, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Lukasz Langa

    Lukasz Langa New Member Site Supporter Level 3

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Redwood Shores, California
    Vehicle?:
    Challenger GT
    Model Year?:
    2017
    Trim?:
    SXT Plus
    Color?:
    Granite Crystal
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    Have you had your UConnect crash on you? This just happened to mine today and it freaked me out a bit.

    The central console screen became unresponsive. Taps on the screen still resulted in system sounds but no function could be accessed. I thought: I know, I'll just turn the console off and on again. But it wouldn't turn on again. Radio still played but no volume control. Climate control still worked from the physical buttons.

    The UConnect interface wouldn't work until I fully restarted the car. I mean, seriously, stopped the car, turned it off (park), released the brake pedal, and opened the door. Then started it up again.

    I should mention that in the past I've seen UConnect unexpectedly restart itself for no apparent reason. This is different though, an unexpected restart is barely an issue whereas a full freeze that requires the car to be stopped is much more disruptive.

    Do I have a lemon or is this a wider issue with stability people are seeing? It's disappointing to see, I've never had a car that required a full stop and restart to have stuff work again.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2017
    EATMYDUST likes this.
  2. Sage81

    Sage81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Media:
    12
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hollywood
    Vehicle?:
    Scat Pack
    Model Year?:
    2017
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack
    Color?:
    Black
    Transmission?:
    6-Speed
    Yeah take it in for an update...it's an issue and they know about it
     
  3. baggerjack

    baggerjack Active Member Site Supporter Level 1 MOTM Winner! Military

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,717
    Media:
    19
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1,748
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BURBANK ILLINOIS
    Vehicle?:
    2016 CHALLENGER
    Trim?:
    R/T Plus
    Color?:
    Granite Crystal
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    I had an issue with mine on a road trip early last spring. I did not shut the car down in the normal sequence, I believe I shut down engine before putting in park due to urgent call of nature. Did not lock up car. When I restarted had no radio, no uconnect at all. I drove a while thinking about it, then pulled off to a rest area. I got out and locked car like I was home, waited a couple of minutes and got back in. Everything operated normally. Called my tech guy at the dealer, and said he had heard of similar. Never happened again, as I always make sure of shutdown sequence. I did do the download update, but it came to my car direct, not from my dealer. I would get it done either way though.
     
  4. Mopar forever

    Mopar forever Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    505
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bostic n.c.
    Vehicle?:
    challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack
    Color?:
    Sublime
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    It's happend to me a couple times really just as you described it and I have had the screen turn blue nothing but blue! And the backup camara come in driving down the road( that's kinda cool tho ) wish you could turn it on anytime. But yes if I cut the car off and restart the car it goes back to normal. So you are not alone:)
     
  5. Randrews

    Randrews New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle?:
    Challenger
    Trim?:
    SRT-8
    Color?:
    B5 Blue
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    I had my act up a few times when I first got it and I believe I was able to reset it by holding the volume and browse buttons simultaneously for a few seconds. I haven't had any problems with it for probably over a year.
     
  6. EATMYDUST

    EATMYDUST Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle?:
    2016 SPS
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack Shaker
    Color?:
    Redline Red
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    Happened to me 3X today, each time had to shut the car off and restart to reboot the radio. was on a 3 day trip, capped on the3rd day after about 500 miles. I have 17K miles on the car. Any solution?
     
  7. EATMYDUST

    EATMYDUST Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle?:
    2016 SPS
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack Shaker
    Color?:
    Redline Red
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    Have you used a Taser?
     
  8. Home Theater Guy

    Home Theater Guy 2012 RT Redline Tri Coat Site Supporter Level 5 MOTM Winner! Military

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,932
    Media:
    45
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2,128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Eagle River Alaska
    Vehicle?:
    Challenger
    Model Year?:
    2012
    Trim?:
    R/T Classic
    Color?:
    Redline Red
    Transmission?:
    6-Speed
    No u-connect issues, I have updated my software twice so far though. It is expensive, but worth it.
     
  9. EATMYDUST

    EATMYDUST Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle?:
    2016 SPS
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack Shaker
    Color?:
    Redline Red
    Transmission?:
    Auto
    How do you go about updating the software?
     
  10. N2rock

    N2rock Active Member MOTM Winner!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,493
    Media:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle?:
    Challenger
    Model Year?:
    2015
    Trim?:
    R/T Shaker Edition
    Color?:
    Bright White
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    Expensive? You can download and install updates yourself, no charge.
     
  11. N2rock

    N2rock Active Member MOTM Winner!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,493
    Media:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle?:
    Challenger
    Model Year?:
    2015
    Trim?:
    R/T Shaker Edition
    Color?:
    Bright White
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
  12. TikiMan

    TikiMan "Turn on, tune in, drop out" Site Supporter Level 2

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14,589
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,635
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Vehicle?:
    2010 Challenger
    Trim?:
    R/T Classic
    Color?:
    Plum Crazy
    Transmission?:
    6-Speed
    From what people have been posting in recent months, there appears to be an issue with 2016-2017 years. I have never had an issue and I don't do updates.
     
  13. N2rock

    N2rock Active Member MOTM Winner!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,493
    Media:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle?:
    Challenger
    Model Year?:
    2015
    Trim?:
    R/T Shaker Edition
    Color?:
    Bright White
    Transmission?:
    8-Speed Auto
    No issues for me either. Mine is a 2015 and has been updated once. It is current, no updates available for it.
     
  14. EATMYDUST

    EATMYDUST Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle?:
    2016 SPS
    Trim?:
    R/T Scat Pack Shaker
    Color?:
    Redline Red
    Transmission?:
    Auto

Share This Page