Dodge Challenger Forum banner

Undo a muffler delete?

8K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  HERE WE GO AGAIN 
#1 ·
I just got a mid muffler delete. Been researching it about as long as I have been researching the Challenger itself. On paper it seems like a solid mod - low cost, throaty sounds, doesn't affect warranty, quick to do, lots of people do it, and so on. But I have to admit, I'm a bit overwhelmed at the volume increase. Don't get me wrong, I'm not one to shy away from a great car sound, but I feel the results everyone talks about are undersold a bit. YouTube videos never do anything justice, as the volumes depicted basically sound the same, or otherwise suffer from a lack of better audio recording equipment. On top of that - and seriously, no offense to anyone intended - everyone says "its loud but not that loud" and even had a few people tell me it's only like 25-30% louder. I'm no audio expert, but that's a serious underestimation. What kind of "loud" are you looking for if a mid muffler delete "isn't that loud?" And to be clear, I did only get the mid mufflers deleted. My resonators are still there.